Acknowledge the Importance of Life

DO YOU AVOID THE TOPIC OF ABORTION? WHY? If you are like many people, you avoid the subject because it is too personal. Maybe you avoid it because you have had one, you know someone who has had one, or you have lost a baby and cannot bear to think about someone killing an innocent child after losing your very own. Whatever the reason, we all recognize it is a tough topic.

Although the idea of abortion is morally repugnant to some, many believe it’s just another medical procedure to get rid of something that is unwanted… well guess what folks?!… A baby is not just some MOLE you need removed. It is not a parasite, and he or she is not a disposable item! A child is a natural gift from God bestowed upon a mother to cherish, love, and Protect! If Norma Roe McCorvey can convert to Pro-life, then I believe there is a way to persuade all pro-choice individuals into understanding the true meaning of life! Norma “Roe” McCorvey was the notorious “Roe” in the Supreme Court case “Roe vs. Wade” that legalized abortion in 1973. She became a Christian and was baptized in 1995 after going through some major battles. An excerpt from her second book written, Won by Love, stated the following:

“I was sitting in the O.R.’s office when I noticed a fetal development poster. The progression was so obvious, the eyes were so sweet. It hurt my heart, just looking at them. I ran outside and finally, it dawned on me. ‘Norma,’ I said to myself, ‘They’re right.’ I had worked with pregnant women for years. I had been through three pregnancies and deliveries myself. I should have known. Yet something in that poster made me lose my breath. I kept seeing the picture of that tiny, ten-week old embryo, and I said to myself, that’s a baby! It’s as if blinders just fell off my eyes and I suddenly understood the trust – that’s a baby!

I felt crushed under the truth of realization. I had to face up to the awful reality. Abortion wasn’t about ‘products of conception.’ It wasn’t about ‘missed periods.’ It was about children being killed in their mother’s wombs. All those years I was wrong. Signing that affidavit, I was wrong. Working in an abortion clinic, I was wrong. No more of this first trimester, second trimester, third trimester stuff. Abortion – at any point – was wrong. It was so clear. Painfully clear.”

cropped-abortion2.jpg

What many people do not realize is that when “Roe” became pregnant with her third child she was not eligible to receive an abortion, under Texas law. Texas law at the time mandated that an abortion could only be obtained through cases of rape and incest. Her case was of neither. She soon realized she could not obtain an abortion by her own means. She then became the lead plaintiff in the case of Roe v. Wade. The process of her case took nearly 3 years, and during that time she gave birth to the child which she originally looked to abort. In 1995, Norma McCorvey became friends with a Christian. She had come from a rough background, had suffered much harassment, had believed in all the wrong things, had been taken advantage of in many different ways, and was all together a broken woman. She began attending church and subsequently was saved. Since her conversion to Christianity, she has written several books, been involved in the pro-life movement, and has stood for the unborn.

I urge you to visit my “posts” daily and look into your own heart to decide what you truly feel is right. May the Holy Spirit convict you to completely understand and acknowledge the importance of the protection of a baby inside a woman. God Bless you!

-Carrie

One thought on “Acknowledge the Importance of Life

  1. Karen Ward says:

    Wonderfully said, Carrie…and you taught me something I wasn’t aware of. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

